Video: Joyce DiDonato on breathing for singing

Posted: October 19, 2012 in technique, video

Today I watched this video by Joyce DiDonato on breathing for singing: Breath “Support” (16:14).  My coach had mentioned the video to me because it’s a technical area that I’m actively working on.

I know I have been living under a rock, because I didn’t realize that Ms. DiDonato has a very nice YouTube channel that’s not just about the usual performance/promo clips that you might expect on a famous artist’s YouTube page, but actually has a lot of her own vlogs about the craft and career of singing.  I’m always a bit pleasantly surprised when artists of a certain stature and renown take the time to share their knowledge and insights freely with fans, fellow artists (aspiring and established), and the general public.

Ms. DiDonato has a website with blog, as well as links on Facebook and Twitter (and YouTube, of course).

If you know of any other prominent classical singers whose online presence reaches beyond marketing fluff to the personal and insightful and generous, let me know so I can follow them.  Because, yes, I’ve been living under a rock.

Related Posts:

Comments
  1. Bruce Olstad says:

    Oops! I’m glad you watched it. Does this mean I don’t have to send you the link anymore? :p

Leave a Reply

