Tip: Download extra forScore stamps for music annotation

Posted: May 26, 2012 in annotation, diction, forScore, IPA, iPad, sheet music, websites

[UPDATE 9/5/12: I’ve posted a video tutorial that takes you step-by-step through the process of downloading and importing extra forScore stamps.]

If you use the forScore iPad app for reading and annotating music, you can download and import additional stamps for marking your music.  This website has several sets of downloadable forScore stamps including arrows, music notation symbols in different colors, and “watch the conductor” eyeglasses.  Of particular interest to singers: the website also has stamps for breath marks and IPA symbols for lyric diction.

Screenshot of forScore Stamps website

I like using stamps in forScore because I can make legible markings more quickly.  E.g., if I try to write in a comma/breath mark with a stylus or my finger, it takes me about five tries before it looks like something other than a random squiggle.

For instructions on how to import stamps into forScore, check out their user guide.

Related Posts:

Comments
  1. […] Tip: Download extra forScore stamps for music annotation […]

  2. […]  A stylus can be very useful for a musician in the digital age.  Apps like forScore allow for annotation stamps and typed-in text annotations, but sometimes you just have to write things in, and if your finger […]

  3. […] Tip: Download extra forScore stamps for music annotation […]

  4. […] Tip: Download extra forScore stamps for music annotation […]

  5. […] One of my big projects this fall was to get Claude Debussy’s song cycle, Ariettes oubliées, under my belt in its entirety (it’s still in rough form, as my coach will attest).  I bring my iPad with my music on it to lessons and coachings (and a normal binder with paper copies for my pianist, of course).  Despite my complaints in a previous post, I’m facile enough with annotating music on my iPad that I can keep up with the notes I’m being given during a coaching or lesson.  Sometimes I’ll go back through the score later and make things more legible by replacing my messy stylus scrawl with forScore stamp markings. […]

Leave a Reply

